Catch the Kindness

Friends, I have so much I’d like to share with you, but it’s all bottled right up in my head and I haven’t been able to get it out properly. Rest assured, it will come out sooner than later.

In the meantime, though, I’d like to introduce you to my friend Lara. I met Lara shortly after Seth was born (five years ago, for those of you keeping track), and pretty much instantly developed a tween-girl crush on her. Lara is side-achingly funny, beautiful with this gorgeous curly hair (I need lessons on how to tame my mane), and a fantastic momma to five gorgeous children. Suffice it to say, that even though we’re the same age (I think), I want to be her when I grow up.

Funny side story: I haven’t seen Lara in a few years, and one day Matt came home from MCC and proceeded to tell me about a new co-worker he met at a training session for a program he uses for one of his classes. Matt’s all, “So, I started talking to this guy, and I think we would really get along. He and his wife have five kids and adopted two of them, and his name is Tom and I just really enjoyed talking with him.” For some reason, a bell went off in my head and so I responded, “Tom? As in Capuano? Is his wife’s name Lara?” And Matt looked at me incredulously and said, “Yes….how did you know that?” Then I had to explain my crush on Lara and how we had met and that is the story of how the B. family became fan-girls of the Capuanos.

Okay, back to the purpose of this post.

Lara, among all her other giftings, is a fantastic writer, and a few years ago very bravely and vulnerably shared the story of her brother Adam. And every October, she and her family head up 31 days of acts of kindness in honor and memory of Adam. To see how far-reaching Adam’s story has gone, search under #AdamsActs and #catchthekindness. And then please consider joining Lara, her family, and friends in participating.

I have lots of ideas of how my brood and I can spread love and kindness this October. Yes, we are six days in and this is the first you’re hearing of it from me, but rest assured that these six days I have indeed been participating in my own home as I have, without complaint, taken care of all six of my sick family members. Yes, you read that correctly. I am the last one standing and their health and well-being is totally on my shoulders. I think that counts, don’t you? 😉

In all seriousness, it is pretty incredible what a little bit of kindness can do, and even if you can’t join us for #AdamsActs, I would encourage you to think about ways you can spread a little joy to others and then be bold and do it. You’ve got nothing to lose and everything to gain.

And we’ll talk soon about all the other things floating around in my head.

Blessings and love,

Erin

Leave a Reply

