Confessions from the ‘Hood…

The motherhood, that is.

In the interest of lightening things up around here, I thought I would share some glimpses of what goes on in my day-to-day as well as some completely random thoughts.

Is it just me, or am I the only momma who breathes an immense sigh of relief when bedroom doors close and all is quiet at night? I confess that there are so few silent moments during my day that I will begin our bedtime routine a good half hour earlier than normal some nights just so I can get to the quiet quicker.

The boys don’t nap anymore (more’s the pity), but I do keep a firm “quiet time” every day. In order to maximize my “free” time, I unashamedly change their clock every. single. day. so that I get an extra hour. When Levi asks me why I have to fix his clock, I just tell him, “Because.” Yup, I’m that kind of momma.

Lunch for me some days is a bowl of ice cream and whatever toppings I can find. I highly recommend swirling raspberry jam into vanilla ice cream and mixing in chocolate chips. And who on earth really only eats a half cup of ice cream? That’s like, what, five bites?

Seth and Ellie have been really sweet to one another lately. Actually, Seth has been super sweet for about two weeks now. That’s the longest stretch in his short three years on earth. But he and Ellie really have been adorable. He’s been “protecting” her and voluntarily bringing her toys and holding her hand, and playing with her. As the closest of our 4 kidlets in age, I’m not terribly surprised, but the tenderness he shows her (and Clara, too), has been a delight.

On the flip side, Ellie has been showing, shall we say….a unique personality. Girl has a temper on her, let me tell you. Gee, wonder where she gets that from?

A recent conversation between the 3 big kidlets, at lunch time:

Levi: “Oh noooo!!! Stop, Sethie, stop!!!” (Seth is eating, and Levi has not prayed yet.)

Seth: shoots Levi a look that’s basically like, “Whatever, dude, you’re missing out on this tasty pizza. I’m chowing down.”

Ellie, pointing at Levi emphatically: “Pray! Pray! Pray! Pray! Pray! Pray!”

Levi: “Okay, guys, stop. ‘Dear Jesus, thank you for this food. Amen.'”

……..later during the meal………

Something happened that I missed, and this is what I heard…

Ellie: “NO SETHIE. You don’t *completely indecipherable*. NO.”

And just for emphasis, she SLAMMED her hand down as hard as she could on the table.

That told him.

 

I am ashamed to admit this, but I have watched a few episodes of ‘The Bachelor’ this season. Apparently the dude went to college here in Rochester. From what I’ve seen, I’m not impressed. But it’s like a trainwreck. I can’t stop watching.

If you haven’t heard, I’ve been asked to be the speaker at a women’s gathering next weekend and I am terrified. No, seriously. I don’t have a lot of experience in public speaking. I’m already sweating and shaking and it’s not even till March 8th.

The other day, I drank so much coffee I thought I was going to jump out of my skin. I don’t know the last time I ever felt that jittery.

And my final confession for the night….

I’m just not certain we’re done having babies. I know. I’m crazy. But there you have it.

 

Blessings and love,

Erin

*Just to state for the record, I am not pregnant and we are not trying to have a baby. Just in case you were curious.*

Leave a Reply

